Corporate Directors Forum’s 20th Annual Director of the Year Awards

Corporate Directors Forum’s 20th Annual Director of the Year Awards


Daniel J. Wolterman

Daniel J. Wolterman, Companies in Transition

NuVasive’s Compensation Committee Chair, Daniel J. Wolterman, is this year’s honoree for Companies in Transition. Regarded as a seasoned healthcare professional and visionary, Mr. Wolterman was instrumental in recruiting a new CEO for NuVasive in 2018. This competitive and challenging process required countless hours of collaboration with outside advisors and the board. Mr. Wolterman was able to successfully carry out the robust succession planning process while maintaining a high standard of good governance and keeping the various stakeholder needs in mind. While NuVasive develops “minimally disruptive solutions” for the spine and beyond, many could argue that Mr. Wolterman’s ability to help navigate a time of immense transition was also done with minimal disruption.


Lori Moore

Lori Moore, Corporate Governance: Not-for-Profit

Lori Moore, this year’s honoree for Corporate Governance: Not-for-Profit, has a life-long relationship with Sharp Healthcare. Not only does she serve as Sharp Healthcare’s Board Chair, she was also born in a Sharp hospital, was a Sharp Candy Striper, and later became a Sharp nurse. She is their first nurse to hold the Board Chair position. Ms. Moore is the force behind the organization’s system-wide philanthropy initiative for board members, with more than 160 individuals serving on boards across the system. The Board recently awarded Ms. Moore the prestigious "Guardian Angel" pin for her significant impact on the organization. It is safe to say the importance she places on giving back to the community has benefitted the Sharp community and constituents tremendously.


Mike Grey

Mike Grey, Lifetime Achievement

With over four decades of experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries, Mike Grey’s impressive career makes him this year’s honoree for Lifetime Achievement. His leadership capabilities and extensive knowledge have made him a much sought-after board member. While this award is for his cumulative career successes, he currently serves as Executive Chairman for Mirum Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Amplyx Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Reneo Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Spruce Biosciences, Inc. Additionally, he is on the boards of BioMarin Pharmaceutical, Inc., Horizon Pharma plc. and Mirati Therapeutics, Inc. To further multiply his innumerable contributions to the pharma and biotech industries, Mr. Grey is also a venture partner at Pappas Capital, where he helps to evaluate and fund companies seeking to address unmet medical needs.


Robert S. Sullivan

Robert S. Sullivan, Lifetime Legacy

Since 2003, this year’s honoree for Lifetime Legacy, Robert S. Sullivan, has served as founding Dean of the Rady School of Management at UC San Diego. Retiring this year, Mr. Sullivan’s 16 years in this role have yielded impressive results. At its inception, the school was promised no philanthropic, campus or state resources, yet with his tenacious dedication and leadership, he managed to secure nearly one quarter of a billion dollars, assemble a world class faculty, achieve accreditation at almost a record speed, and establish consistently highly-ranked programs. His contributions to the school have created a domino effect in the San Diego community and beyond, contributing greatly to intellectual capital, in general, and innovation, in particular. His legacy will live on for generations to come.

To join us and be a part of this memorable evening, purchase your individual tickets or a table for the event at We hope to see you there!