Corporate Directors Forum, the San Diego-based nonprofit founded in 1991 to provide networking and education in corporate governance, has named its 2017 Director of the Year awards.


Harvey White

The Corporate Governance award goes to Martha Demski, a director at Chimerix Inc. and Neothetics Inc.

Kevin Gorman, CEO of Neurocrine Biosciences Inc., was named the Enhancement of Economic Value honoree.

The Corporate Citizenship award went to San Diego Padres Chairman and CEO Ron Fowler, who has also served on the University of San Diego board of trustees.

The award for corporate governance at a not-for-profit organization went to Doug Obenshain, a director at Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute.

Cam Garner, chairman and director at companies including Oncternal Therapeutics and Kalyra Pharmaceuticals, earned the Companies in Transition recognition.

CDF gave a lifetime achievement award to Qualcomm Inc. co-founder Harvey White, who has served on a variety of boards of governance.

The awardees will be recognized at an evening event Sept. 7 at the Hyatt Regency in La Jolla.