Corporate Directors Forum named six San Diego board members it says have contributed to better corporate governance, and announced plans to honor them at the organization’s annual awards event September in La Jolla.

The forum’s 2016 Director of the Year honorees are:

  • David F. Hale, chairman and CEO of Hale BioPharma Ventures and former chairman of Santarus, SkinMedica and other companies. He was selected for the forum’s category of Lifetime Contribution to Life Sciences.

  • Magda Marquet, co-founder and co-chairwoman of Althea Technologies, selected for the category of Corporate Governance.

  • Mark D. Dankberg, chairman and CEO of ViaSat Inc., selected for Enhancement of Economic Value.

  • Jim Buechler, chairman and CEO of Ballast Point Brewing & Spirits, selected for Companies in Transition.

  • Carol Chang, chairwoman of the UC San Diego Foundation, selected for Corporate Governance Not-for-Profit. She serves as president of the Balboa Park Conservancy and is founder and board member of the San Diego Women’s Foundation.

  • Peter C. Farrell, founder and chairman of ResMed Inc., selected for Lifetime Achievement. He is a director at NuVasive and other companies.

“In the current business climate, director leadership is more important than ever,” Jack Yelverton, senior vice president of Aon Corp. and the forum’s Director of the Year co-chairman, said in a news release. “To have each of our honorees nominated by their peers as the region’s highest achievers is special and we are pleased to ensure they receive the recognition they deserve.”

The San Diego-based forum has scheduled the awards event for 6 to 9 p.m. Sept. 22 at the Hyatt Regency La Jolla. Tickets and sponsorship information are available by calling 858-455-7930, or by email at