Starting in 2014, the Holiday Bowl will pit a winning football team from the Pac 12 conference against a winning team from the Big 10 conference, after the San Diego Bowl Game Association struck a deal with the latter group.

The game is held each December after Christmas at Qualcomm Stadium. Another bowl game, the Poinsettia Bowl, is held before Christmas.

“In the ever changing world of college football, we are excited to begin this new chapter that will, no doubt, provide a huge economic impact to San Diego as our community welcomes thousands of college football fans to our beautiful city every December,” said Bill Geppert, the 2013 Bowl president.

The Big 10 is no stranger to the Holiday Bowl. The conference had an agreement with the bowl from 1992-1994 and its teams, including Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State have all played in the game.

Representatives from the Big 12 conference, including perennial powerhouses Oklahoma, Texas, and Kansas State won’t be playing in the Holiday Bowl for at least for six years, the term of the new contract.

Of course, Brigham Young University, the biggest participant in Holiday Bowl’s history, appearing 11 times, won’t be part of this event since it became an independent team in 2011.

This year, the Holiday Bowl pits the second selection from the Pac 12 against the fourth selection from the Big 12 after the matchups for the Bowl Championship Series are selected. The 2013 game, set for Dec. 30, is in its 36th year.

— Mike Allen