The staff of the San Diego Business Journal captured 11 awards, including six first-place awards, in the Non-Daily Newspapers division at the San Diego Press Club’s 38th annual Excellence in Journalism Awards event Oct. 25 at the San Diego Hall of Champions in Balboa Park.

Reporter Lou Hirsh won three prizes: a first- and a third-place award in the Real Estate category, and a second-place award in the Business & Financial category.

Reporter Brad Graves won two first-place awards, in the Science/Technology and History categories.

Senior Reporter Mike Allen took a first place in the Business & Financial category.

Reporter Kelly Quigley placed first in the Health & Medicine category.

Managing Editor Brad Sondak took a first-place award in the Headlines category.

Director of Art & Production Michael S. Domine won two second-place awards, one in the Feature Layout Design category and one in the Front Page Design category.

Design Editor/Graphic Artist Darlene Alilain-Horn took third place in the Feature Layout Design category.